Midnight Special Tenor Banjo-Ukulele Review

martinfan

Reaction score
I received my Tenor Banjo-Ukulele and present here my review.

First, my reference point.

In order to judge the validity of the review, the reader must know to what I compare the quality of the instrument to, as I am not a ukulele expert, nor long term ukulele player, but a long term guitar player who has owned a number of fine instruments over the years, and a few clunkers that were quickly retuned or sold at a loss, especially early on, falling for advertising hype.

My reference point, specifically is the instruments I have owned, or those I have tested and played.

The most expensive guitar I have owned was the Martin OM 42. ($3800) For me, this is the epitome of quality, so much so, that like others, I was afraid to play it and sold it! I currently own a custom Martin 15, high gloss, gorgeous Mahogany, of which will never be sold. I had my six children each put their signature inside of it, as it is a lifetime purchase, with not only beauty and sound (I play it daily) but sentimental value.

I don't have a wide experience of ukuleles, but have played and tested some, while doing a lot of research on them.

I own the Pono AD2 Cedar top and find it to be of high quality in sound and construction, as well as beauty. It appears that its value exceeds its price tag, should it have been manufactured in the US or Canada.

I have tested a number of ukulele banjos, ranging from $299 to about $600, in four stores within my State. I think one was even more than this, in a specialty store, that I liked. I also went through the myriad of reviews online and at You Tube.

The Midnight Special, handmade by Hugh Hunter of Canada, represents a marriage of craftsmanship and musician experience and insight. It is head and shoulders above the best that I sampled.

It has a beautiful sound, louder than I had prepared myself for (a plus) with that true 'banjo' sound I ha hoped for.