Pickup assistance for first build

DaviHumbl

Reaction score
Evening all,

I have been playing ukulele for a couple of years now and recently started to do some open mic nights with my Kala. I have always liked the idea of making my own ukulele, but the standard hollow body approach looks beyond my ability and capabilities. As im happy with the ukulele i have, im looking to make a ukulele which is a little different with a specific theme - repurposing old furniture, scrap items etc - basically the things now obsolete in society. Im looking to stick to wooden items and preserve them as much as possible in most cases. Hopefully artistic and beautiful rather than novelty :)

As the acoustics on such a project would be terrible, im going to aim for an amplified approach. I have an old scrap electric guitar and i am trying to avoid buying anything new - only scrap or obsolete. This leads to my questions:

I am looking to use an undersaddle pickup but for my first project, I doubt i can fit a pre amp - and for my budget I suspect it would sound awful anyways. Would an unpowered undersaddle pickup linked directly into a jack socket work if played through an external amplifier?
If yes, would it also work if i added a volume knob in the circuit? Would a normal electric guitar one work?
Finally, if I instead used steel strings, would an electric guitar humbucker work or would I need a specific one for ukulele due to the width of the pickup?

Any help or advice much appreciated.

Thanks Allen. In honesty thats a god old chunk outside of my budget and at this point im not even confident my first project will even be in tune so just trying to look at the low end at the moment until the rest of the quality gets in line :)

look at this pre-amp:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/LC-4-Bands-...529640?hash=item2ca35fdca8:g:TWkAAOSwGzlTtQB6

if you want to go real easy, here's one you can stick on and plug directly into your amp.