Playing too fast?

JackLuis

Reaction score
I've been playing around for about six months on my ukes. Practicing with my neighbor, who has a lot of music for guitar and we've been playing a couple of times a week.

One of my/our problems is speed. When I first learn a chord sequence it is slow and sloppy but as I learn to play it, I find myself playing it faster and faster until it's not even the same song I started out to play!

I got a metronome but it only helps when I use it. (funny how that works out) I have also noticed that I strum to the lyric rather than a 1-2-3-4 regular strum. I stay in time with the beat but not slavishly following the 1-2-3-4 or what ever.

Is that abnormal or is it a normal thing to have to master?

Strumming to the lyric instead of "slavishly following the 1-2-3-4" sounds like a good thing to me. I guess if you are accompanying a singer or another instrumentalist who is taking a solo, it is good to know how to step back and not clutter up what they are doing though.

Staying in time comes with practice. I'm a foot tapper, which helps me. Also, try to listen carefully to your guitar playing neighbour (or whoever you are playing with), and try to follow them, instead of just playing in your own bubble. Practising with a metronom is good, as is playing along with recordings.