PDA

View Full Version : newbie

ukukulele
03-31-2009, 10:18 AM
hi everyone, i am mike from england, i would like to learn the ukulele, i have not bought one yet am just at the looking into stage, couple of questions, now remember i am a coomplete beginner, and dont play any other instruments, first do i need to be able to read music, as i cant, is it like guitar chords where you need to know were to place the fingers, also i am a lefthander, is the ukulele available in left and right handed versions like guitars, sorry if i sound like a total novice, but its what i am.:confused:
thanks for any help:anyone:

UKISOCIETY
03-31-2009, 10:25 AM
Go here and read up. (http://ukuleleunderground.com/forum/showthread.php?t=11346&highlight=beginners) Welcome to teh UU!

upskydowncloud
03-31-2009, 11:28 AM
hi everyone, i am mike from england, i would like to learn the ukulele, i have not bought one yet am just at the looking into stage, couple of questions, now remember i am a coomplete beginner, and dont play any other instruments, first do i need to be able to read music, as i cant, is it like guitar chords where you need to know were to place the fingers, also i am a lefthander, is the ukulele available in left and right handed versions like guitars, sorry if i sound like a total novice, but its what i am.:confused:
thanks for any help:anyone:

Hi welcome to the forum.

To answer your questions no you don't need to be able to read music! Most ukulele music on the internet is in tabulature which is very easy to learn and basically tells you which notes to play on which strings.

I too am left-handed, I play my uke in the right handed way. Pretty much all ukes are capable of being left/right handed, you just change the position of the strings.

Where are you in the UK? There are a few of us here in England, Wales and Ireland.

Let me know if you have any other questions.

Kanaka916
03-31-2009, 11:38 AM