PDA

View Full Version : new uke - G string seems loudder than the rest

uke_sith
04-01-2009, 12:45 PM
Bought my first uke - Kala KA-SC. Got it today.
Got it from MGM so it has the upgraded strings.

So, here is my question:
Noob here, so playing open chords and the C string seems to ring
so much louder than every other string. Seems to dominate the chord,
to my ear.

Maybe I need just need to break it in. But it is noticeable.
Anybody ever seen/heard this before ?

deach
04-01-2009, 12:46 PM
Is a low g?

HoldinCoffee
04-01-2009, 12:56 PM
That's an easy fix, stop playing open chords.

Welcome to the forum.:cheers:

bornagainjeeper
04-01-2009, 12:58 PM
i had the same problem with my ovation soprano...It was both the G and the A strings...I believe it is because the string is higher up than the others therefore being strummed or picked harder...my solution was to get a file which matched the grove already in the nut and go to town....just a few strokes at a time the last thing you want is to notch it too deeply...just do it litttttle by little....that fixed my g string perfectly and i've deicided i need to go a little deeper on my A....hope that helps and Be CAREFUL...if in doubt take it to a luthier

uke_sith
04-01-2009, 01:49 PM
Standard tuning. Not low G.

Man, had it one day and need to take it in.
I don't wanna mess things up by trying to fix it myself.

I appreciate the input, folks. I play some instruments but
strings are new to me.

uke_sith
04-01-2009, 01:57 PM
See how new I am ?
I meant the C string ... second from the top.
Post corrected.

ukeatan
04-01-2009, 02:16 PM
I am by no means an expert on this, as others on this forum are-- but I'm under the impression that the body of an instrument will resonate with certain frequencies and if you're building a uke, you want to body to be a little "flat" or "sharp" so that it won't resonate more loudly with one string, similar to what you seem to be describing.