Electric ukulele produces helicopter-like sound

stian

Reaction score
Hello all. First off the bat: I'm a beginner with both ukuleles and string instruments in general, so in order to practice quietly, I bought a Vorson electric ukulele in addition to an acoustic one.

However, the ukulele produces a flapping, helicopter-like sound that is driving me nuts. What's more, the helicopter sound varies with the position of the ukulele.

If it's on my lap in playing position with the front perpendicular to the floor, the helicopter sound is low, but still very annoying. If it's slanting or laying flat, the sound is just unbearable.

It produces the sound both hooked up to an amp and with headphones connected directly.

Any ideas what can be causing this, and how it can be fixed?

If you'd like I could post a clip of the actual sound?

Thanks,
Stian

A clip would definitely help, but my first guess is that the instrument is not properly shielded, and you're getting all sorts of ground loops, depending on the position of the ukulele.

It's a relatively easy thing to remedy. I buy copper shielding tape off of eBay for around $6-8, and it covers 3-4 guitars or electric basses easily, so you'll be fine with just the ukulele. There are a number of how-tos online to walk you through the process of shielding it.

Thanks, will definitely try that! Uploaded a link to a sound clip if you could be so kind as to check it out.

Cheers,
Stian

A clip would definitely help, but my first guess is that the instrument is not properly shielded, and you're getting all sorts of ground loops, depending on the position of the ukulele.

It's a relatively easy thing to remedy. I buy copper shielding tape off of eBay for around $6-8, and it covers 3-4 guitars or electric basses easily, so you'll be fine with just the ukulele. There are a number of how-tos online to walk you through the process of shielding it.