iRig Acoustic Mic/Interface for iOS

Jim Hanks

Reaction score
http://www.ikmultimedia.com/products/irigacoustic/

OK, who's gonna be the first to try this on their ukes? Looks interesting. I was not real impressed with the original iRig as it generated a lot of crosstalk on the headphone jack but maybe they've improved the circuitry over the past few years.

it sure looks interesting!

$49 bucks is great if it works. Am I reading it right that the software AND mic are $49? If that think delivers that would be pretty cool.

Trevor

Thanks for the heads up Jim. I have ZERO knowledge about anything electronic so here are some noob questions. I read this back to front and can't figure out if I can just plug that iRig Acoutic mic directly into my amp. If not what do I have to do to be able to do that. I have a number of ukes without pick ups and it would be a blast to try them all out through my Fishman loudbox mini.

Thanks
Dave

I could be confused but I got the idea it was not to go to a regular amp, just to the IOS based recording software IE and Iphone or Ipad. I am also tech-deficient.

I could be confused but I got the idea it was not to go to a regular amp, just to the IOS based recording software IE and Iphone or Ipad. I am also tech-deficient.

It looks like there is a splitter type jack. Maybe it has to go into your phone or ipad first that has the app and then into an amplifer. If all it does is record then I am not interested.

There are a few iRig devices. They are analogue/digital interfaces that allows you to plug your Uke pickup into a iPhone or iPad ( usually using Garage Band as the recorder/mixing desk). The one I have caters for other inputs besides the standard quarter inch phono jack.

It looks like there is a splitter type jack. Maybe it has to go into your phone or ipad first that has the app and then into an amplifer. If all it does is record then I am not interested.