Bad day in the shed

Timbuck

Reaction score
Earlier this year I made 6 sets of mahogany for soprano ukes..today I started bending the sides....I only managed to get one set out them...all the rest cracked ( grain runout I suppose):( the one set that I was successful with was bent by hand at the waist first, then finished off in the foxy machine.

Last edited:
Yup! .. After sourcing the material , purchase , resawing, thickness sanding, profile shaping, heating up the Bender , then crunch...all money down the drain:(. ..it's a good job I don't do it for a living:D

I had a cherry side crack last week. Working with bloodwood today. So far so good.

I am a complete novice at uke building, but in some ways it's encouraging to hear this happens to experts, and the 2 of 3 cracked so far were not entirely down to my incompetence or lack of experience.
This might seem like a silly question, but is it possible that when the weather is cold, there is more of a likelihood of having problems like this?. I'm thinking in terms of what you said Ken in in your motivation thread, about the workshop being cold. Then I'm thinking of a piece of wood being very hot on the iron side but colder on the other(where the cracking is likely to appear.). Any thoughts?

Have you tried a veneer softener like supersoft? I won't go without it on sides I can't afford to crack. I have also used a "pandoras box" with positive results on valuable sides where breakage would be a disaster.

I normally have no problems with bending, apart from occasional creases....But this batch was snapping with a clean break with just light pressure..on closer inspection the grain is all wrong....my fault I suppose .

Try highly figured maple. The grain is always wrong.
I recently bent some Yellow cedar (very soft) and I was concerned with the creases. I just cranked the heat up such that it was in danger of scorching if the wood/iron contact was too lengthy. No water. Thankfully it worked.

Last edited: