PDA

View Full Version : New strings!!

Still Water Weapons
11-30-2015, 01:58 PM
Not sure if this is where to post this so forgive if incorrect.

There was a post on here that I read last week about some Southcoast strings that had come back into stock. I think it was about linear tuning. Don't much 'bout that, but I did go check out the website and you guys were right it's kind of a confusing website. Long story short, I ended up ordering some Light Medium Gauge strings for my tenor. I just put them on and and MAN, these sound cool! I'm pretty new at this uke stuff, so I don't claim to have a great ear, but these things really have a nice "ring" to them, I suppose is one way to describe them. They are still stretching so I'm tuning every few minutes, but I'm very happy with them.

I also ordered a Soft Medium set, what can I expect different when I put those on?

These are on a Kala KMT if that is important.

Is it strange to remove strings to try new strings but save the old ones so you can try them again? I really want to hear the soft ones but I don't exactly want to cut off the ones I just put on. OH NO, do I need another uke? I think I'm feeling feverish...

--Not affiliated with Southcoast ukulele in any way. :)

Chris

igorthebarbarian
11-30-2015, 06:18 PM
Hi Chris, hola from Phoenix (SW desert as well). Yes, it sounds like you need to give in to your budding UAS (ukulele acquisition syndrome). I agree the Southcoast site is a little confusing too. I bought some linear low-D DGBE baritone strings from there (all non-wounds) and they're quite good. Although I may want to go re-entrant on that - or like you, hey I may need another baritone for that.
I think you'd be ok taking off strings and putting them back on. You just don't want to cut them too short. I've had that happen before where I cut it too short, then had a difficult time getting them back on later.

Jim Hanks
11-30-2015, 06:24 PM