Tuning frequency help?

Irish Uke Tom

Reaction score
Ok. So here goes:

Below are the frequencies for low g tuning.
G = 196 Hz
C = 262 Hz
E = 330 Hz
A = 440 Hz

I want to tune it down a bit, by 8hz, or at least be able to measure it accurately using my tuner. I use a snark tuner which has no back button or frequency setting, just the power button on the front. It shows -50 and +50 on either side of the note showing at the top middle. Could someone explain what these values mean? There are 14 lines either side of the note that ascend and descend.

Any help would be appreciated. Just so you know I can hear differences when I make minor adjustments to my tuning, I just don't know how to be precise.

:cool:

20151205_115523.jpg

This is what the tuner looks like. Sorry for the terrible photo. Although you do get a nice sideways veiw of the mighty river Lagan,

hi uke1950. Thanks for replying. Mine isn't the SN-6 because it has more than one button. I'm a newbie myself :) only been at this since june!

If your clip-on doesn't have Hz calibration, you could try a smart phone app that uses the phone's mic. I bought one years ago called Pitchbot, but I'm sure there are a bunch of free ones available.

The 50 refers to a quarter tone (50% of a half step). So, for example, a G tuned at your Snark's -50 would be exactly centered between an accurate F# and a G. +50 would be between a G and a G#.
You can mostly ignore the lines on either side of the center green line. They're only there to give you some reference as to how far you are from your target. The Hz numbers are there mostly to confuse you, by the way. Utterly unnecessary to over-complicate tuning your instrument. Get your strings tuned to their green lines and you'll be fine.