New Long-neck Soprano Sound banjoey!!!! Should I return it??

GldnGrk88

Reaction score
Hi everyone,
I just bought a new Koa Pili Koko solid acacia long-neck Soprano. I realized right away that it was a lot thinner and twangier than I expexted. I have a week to decide if I want to return it.

My girlfriend owns the same size Kala (laminated koa) and it sounds great.

I'm a beginner, I only owns a plastic soprano before this. I'm a classical viola player so I'm a little picky with my ears and what sound I like, but maybe I would be happier with a concert or a tenor?

Nick

You can't be too picky; you play viola...! I kid, I kid...

Seriously, if the sound is not to your liking and its within the return timeframe, send it back. If your girlfriends ukulele also a longneck soprano, or just a regular scale? If you like hers, I'd return the one you just got and either get one like hers, or that has similar woods in a different brand.

I will echo Jon's advice, return it if it isn't to your liking. The Kala SLNG and SSLNG are quite nice and for a decent price each respectively. I haven't had the chance to try the laminate Koa, however, and that one is priced much higher so I would be more apt to go for the Solid top version that goes for about $149.00. If you're set on a long neck soprano. But your complaint harbored on thinness, so maybe you should be looking at concert bodies that can provide a bigger tone since you're already sold on a concert scale neck...?

Trade it in for the concert size, doubt you'd be disappointed. I have the long neck soprano pineapple and although it sounds decent, can't hold a candle to my concert size.