Great Ukulele books

blodzoom

Reaction score
I've been playing for about 6 months now so I'm not a complete beginner. My playing has mostly consisted of learning to play songs from videos and tabs online (lots of strumming open chords). I'm taking lessons now and that's exposing me to a little solo uke style and a little music theory.

Does anyone have any books that they want to recommend? Any book that had a big impact on their ability/motivation at any point in their journey? I'm open to all types of playing but I'm definitely planning on digging into fingerstyle more.

When I was first learning to play I went through a lot of books. Most of them got re-homed, but a few that I still have and still use (6+ years later) include:

Fred Sokolow's Ukulele Fretboard Roadmaps
John King's two books
Ukulelezaza's two books
Aaron Keim's books
Tony Mizen's Baroque and Romantic books

Most of these are pretty intermediate but I've been making my way through them since I was a beginner. The Aaron Keim books are great for beginners (and fun for those of us who are more advanced but just want to take it easy from time to time!).

Thanks for the recommendations. I'm not as interested in the songbooks. The Fretboard Roadmaps looks right up my alley. I ordered that one along with a couple others that get good reviews on Amazon.

Nothing like stuffing your own stocking.

I was going to suggest Daily Ukulele. I love that book. You can do a lot with it. But I guess if you don't want to play songs, don't get it.

I'm not a big fan of Ukulele Roadmaps. I think there are better books that teach you.

I"ve said this before and will do it again. I love Melbay Understanding Ukulele Chords http://www.amazon.com/Mel-Bay-Understanding-Ukulele-Chords/dp/0786672153