Fell in love with a uke

EddiePlaysBass

Reaction score
So today walked into a music shop, just to see IF they had any uke's hanging around. Saw a terribly cute slim-bodied Leho soprano, and fell in love.

Told myself my next uke would be a tenor or a concert but now I am gassing for a soprano ... I did not buy it (price was ok though) because I really can't even play more than a handful of chords without a cheat sheet.

But damn, I want that Leho now! Any word on the model or this brand? It was new to me but then, I am new to ukulele's :)

I'm not familiar with the brand. But it sounds like it spoke to you and is within your means. I'd say try to play a few other brands/sizes and then go with the one that speaks to you the best. The only other point I'd make is buy from a shop that knows how to set up Ukes. There is a shop local to me that has a great selection and is widely admired. They don't do setups unless you ask and even then their setup is really quite limited. This doesn't help a new player much because when we're new we don't know how to check intonation, or what string height we prefer, etc.

Googled them and lots of info. A flame maple bodied, solid cedar topped soprano sounds like fun although concert is my preferred size. Not sure what "price was ok" is. Appears they have ukes from entry level all laminate to solids well into the intermediate range. I'm guessing they sound at least as good as the equivalent model Kala.

It was EUR 199,- which I thought was a decent price. I really need to play more ukulele and be a little better than I currently am, to justify any kind of uke purchase, though.

Learned "Silent Night" today and had fun. Now see if I can remember it so next time I am in a music store I can actually play something other than a one-finger C-chord :(

No, no, if you love it and the price is okay, you should buy it. But that's just me. Happy shopping. :D