New custom Bruko problem

Lewis1980

Reaction score
Hi

I brought a Bruko 6 in April and fell in love with it so I decided for Christmas I'd buy myself a custom model.

I chose a Walnut body concert. It looks beautiful but I'm having a problem with the sound and not sure if it's the scale, wood type or strings.

I didn't like the pyramid strings, they feel sticky or something. It's hard to explain but I didn't like the texture. I swapped them for Worth Browns as I did with my number 6 but the uke is so quiet.

The clarity seems OK but it's nowhere near as loud as my number 6.

Am I expecting too much? Is walnut quieter than mahogany? Should a concert be quieter than a soprano? Or are Worth Browns the wrong strings for a walnut concert use?

Can anybody offer some advice?

I had read that walnut was a darker sounding wood, as an artist I took that as possibly lacking highs. The walnut soprano I purchased from Bruce Wei is very quiet compared to my other ukuleles. I put Aquila reds on it and put it away for awhile. It is a punchy little bugger and can bark out but the energy it takes to do so causes a weird little buzz from a couple strings moving so much.

I bought a cheap pickup/preamp from china to add to it if I decide so it can be played softer and plugged in for volume. My experience so far with a couple BW ukuleles is they sound much better a year or so after you buy them. I imagine a Bruko can open up as well but I think what we really have is just characteristics of walnut.

Keep in mind as I'm a tattoo artist all this information is speculation and observation based only.

~AL~

Those I have talked to with all walnut ukes say they are strong in the mid range, kinda like mahogany. Worth browns are usually the strings to use if something is too bright sounding and you want to tone it down. That is basically the opposite of what you want to do. Try some Worth Clears, Oasis brights or Aquila Reds or Aquila Nylguts.