PDA

View Full Version : What are the build factors that impact on the sound?

onlyablur
12-27-2015, 08:15 AM
Hello all, I've been playing for a couple of months only, and didn't play any string instrument before. I'm interested to know what are the build factors that affect the sound of an uke? the tonewoods, body shape, soundport position, top thickness etc etc? Could you please list the major factors, and I can read more about them?

Thank you!

wickedwahine11
12-27-2015, 09:07 AM
I am moving this post to the Luthier's Lounge for you, where you will probably find more knowledgable answers as the builders are most likely to be better able to answer.

For my limited knowledge, I have two instruments from the same builder. Both sound and look great, but one definitely sounds richer and fuller than the other, even in blind sound tests with a professional musician friend of mine. It has a slotted headstock and an offset soundhole, which I have heard allow for better sustain and a larger portion of the soundboard to vibrate. I think you will find tonewood definitely affects the sound as well - with most of what I have seen saying plainer wood often sounds better than curly wood. I am sure the luthiers will be able to better answer your question though than my anecdotal response.

Moore Bettah Ukuleles
12-27-2015, 03:14 PM
While all the things you mention contribute to some degree, the most important factor is the technique and experience of the builder.

sequoia
12-27-2015, 04:13 PM
The problem here is that the question is too broad. It is like asking: How can I be happier in life or what is the key to peace in the Middle East? Making a good sounding ukulele is an art and a science and depends on many complex factors coming together as a whole. Plus, what makes a good sounding ukulele is a point of endless discussion (and yes, heated argument sometimes) among luthiers and people who listen to ukuleles.