technique help for a self taught uke fan!

julieuke1978

Reaction score
I taught myself how to play the ukulele a few years ago. I have LOVED every minute! I had no stringed instrument background, so I did the best I could. For making chords I tend to keep my thumb on the back of the neck. I think this makes my fingers more straight than curved. I noticed a lot of guitar players have their thumb on the top of the neck. With a soprano, my fingers were too cramped, and I felt I didn't have control of the ukulele especially when standing up if I curved my fingers and had my thumb on top. I got a tenor ukulele in June. I'm finding I'm having some pain in my left elbow where I didn't used to before. I'm thinking it's to do with my hand position. What's the correct hand position for chords? Does it matter what size uke I'm playing? Hope this makes sense. Any help would be much appreciated!!

I say go with what feels most comfortable and natural to YOU. I've played a variety of stringed instruments for 40+ years, and I prefer to wrap my thumb around the neck (except for barre chords...then its on the back) as it gives ME more control. Many others leave their thumb on the back. Whatever floats your boat. No right or wrong.

From a "proper" technique standpoint, thumb behind the neck is correct, fingers relatively straight. But it sounds like you're doing something wrong and, as others have said, different strokes... Could you post up a video of you playing something? That would be really helpful for us in helping you.

At Roy Sakuma's they taught us to keep our thumb behind the neck. If your fingers are more straight than curved, it might be because you're fretting the strings too far away from your fingertips. However, I can't say for sure.

Yeah, there's no right or wrong way when it comes to thumb placement.