another rotary tool plunge base

photoshooter

Reaction score
I'm wanting to try some inlay techniques and will likely build my own Dremel base since the StewMac is on the pricey side (I'm just a hobbyist). I was checking out what's new at Lee Valley and they've put out their own flavor of rotary tool plunge base. Like all of their tools it looks to be well executed. All of a sudden the StewMac base isn't so terribly pricey ;)

05J6501s10b.jpg

It's actually quite a good price for the machining that's involved in making that complete unit. It really depends on how much you plan on using it as to whether it's justified. If it was me, I think I'd go for it, as I already own the SM one and it's certainly lacking as far as I'm concerned.

It does seem that a heavier base could really be an asset for precision work. Less likely to skip around, more stable feeling. Up to a point of course. I made an acrylic one thinking that lighter was better, but now rethinking that.

Hello folks, somewhat late to this thread, but I just got the Veritas plunge base yesterday so I thought I would put my 2cents in. In true Veritas style, this tool is a solid, well built version of the big router setups. Yeh, it's pricey but comes with the accessories to make it versatile and accurate. A big bonus is that the base's threaded holes for attaching the fence rods are on the same hole center s as the SM base. It is possible to use your existing jigs with the Veritas base. First off, I am going to cut some circles with the LV setup, then try my homemade circle cutter. Is it worth it? Now that I have seen it and the second guessing is done, YES!! It definitely satisfied my TAS for awhile. GaryHovde

PS this is my first attempt at posting pics.20160112_102220_307 Ave.jpg20160112_102313_307 Ave.jpg