PDA

View Full Version : Putting baritone strings on a tenor? Does that make sense?



Chrisinfp
01-09-2016, 09:15 AM
Can I put low D strings on a tenor and play it as a baritone. I tried tuning a tenor to DGBE and it didn't sound right. Would it sound better to get the baritone strings for a tenor? Thanks

Jim Hanks
01-09-2016, 09:23 AM
Low D is going to be tough to make work on tenor scale. Now high d dGBE can work quite well on tenor. With strings designed for it of course. Just tuning a standard gCEA set down is going to be horrible. I recommend the Southcoast HU-NW set for tenor dGBE.

Futurethink
01-09-2016, 09:36 AM
You can buy DGBE strings which are made for a tenor.

Here's a thread about strings from Southcoast;
http://forum.ukuleleunderground.com/showthread.php?106202-Tenor-Ukulele-dGBE-tuning-Southcoast-strings

See post 7 in this thread points to a set from Aquila;
http://forum.ukuleleunderground.com/showthread.php?4399-DGBE-Tuning-on-Tenor-Uke

Chrisinfp
01-09-2016, 10:57 AM
Thank you. Can you explain the difference between. DGBE and dGBE tuning ? Thanks a lot

Tootler
01-09-2016, 01:08 PM
Thank you. Can you explain the difference between. DGBE and dGBE tuning ? Thanks a lot

It's to distinguish between linear tuning ie low D (DGBE) and reentrant tuning ie high D (dGBE).

As others have said, reentrant dGBE tuning works well on a tenor. I like it better than low G GCEA and have all my tenors tuned that way. I tried the Aquila strings on my Fluke and wasn't keen. I use Worth CF strings on my tenors and they work for me. The "F" stands for fat so they're slightly larger diameter than regular tenor strings and are sold as a high tension set but work OK in dGBE tuning. Themtension is somewhat lower than a regular set of tenor strings but I don't like the high tension of a tenor in standard tuning so they suit me fine.