Multiple Questions: Low G; Traveler Uke; tuning pegs; set up

davidwtc

Reaction score
As a beginner, I have many questions. I have been reading the forum, but I have not found the answers to these (although I can't say I read all 101 pages of the beginners forum). Here are my questions :

1. High G versus low G. I am learning fingerpicking and it seems that low G would offer more, but I notice that Jake Shimabukuro uses high G and does not seem to be hampered in making great music fingerpicking. Also, low G seems to me to make the ukulele an four string guitar tuned four steps higher, rather than the distinctive ukulele. Am I too emotional about this?

2. What is a traveler uke?

3. Friction pegs versus sealed gear tuners, what are the advantages and disadvantages of each?

4. What is the set up that some suppliers provide (or one gets from a guitar repair shop). What is done? Why is it necessary or beneficial?

As a beginner, I have many questions. I have been reading the forum, but I have not found the answers to these (although I can't say I read all 101 pages of the beginners forum). Here are my questions :

1. High G versus low G. I am learning fingerpicking and it seems that low G would offer more, but I notice that Jake Shimabukuro uses high G and does not seem to be hampered in making great music fingerpicking. Also, low G seems to me to make the ukulele an four string guitar tuned four steps higher, rather than the distinctive ukulele. Am I too emotional about this?

2. What is a traveler uke?

3. Friction pegs versus sealed gear tuners, what are the advantages and disadvantages of each?

4. What is the set up that some suppliers provide (or one gets from a guitar repair shop). What is done? Why is it necessary or beneficial?