Soprano tips?

JackLuis

Reaction score
I've been playing tenor and concert for about 9 months. I thought the tenor might be easier to play and bought one. Then I thought a concert might be better as the tenor fret spacing was a tough stretch. So I got a concert and really liked it, though I use Low G as the reentrant tuning doesn't flip my pancake.

Now, nine months later, UAS, a love of Zebra wood, and cheap Caramel Ukes has made me the owner of a Zebra wood Soprano with Aq Super Nygut strings. I just got it in the mail a few days ago and the strings are settling but the sound of it is... icky. I don't really know how to describe it.

I also just got a new Zebra wood Tenor that had Super Nygut strings on it and I was less than impressed with the sound. But I put some Phd Low G's on it and wow! Now it has shifted from a "Frank Sinatra" to "Povorati" the voice changed significantly.

While I was at my local Uke Shop to get the PHDs I played a few high end soprano's, mostly with Aquilas and thought that they sounded different. It was hard to tell as the River City Uke Orchestra had just finished their meetup and there were a lot of people in the store jabbering about ukes and such.

Now I don't expect that my $45 Caramel will sound a lot like a $2,500 Emerald Bay or a $1,200 K model but I had hoped that it would sound a bit more musical.

I realize that the smaller body will have a different quality than the concert or tenors but shouldn't it ring, a little. I've read that the Super Nyguts are supposed to be good strings but after hearing the difference the Phds made on my tenor I'm not so sure.

So I was wondering what you guys/gals think about Soprano vs Concert vs Tenor voice wise?

In a nutshell: it all depends. :)

On personal preference, individual uke, strings - just to name the biggest factors in the game.