PDA

View Full Version : Bypassing my laptop's built-in mic?



Captain Google
04-04-2009, 08:19 PM
My VAIO laptop has an awful built-in microphone. Previous attempts to use a different microphone (without changing any settings) proved futile. With a digital audio recorder (which can be used as a microphone) (like the one used by Ken Middleton) on the way, and my plan to try out ustream, I need to figure out how to get past that darn thing.

What should I try?

ukusaurus
04-04-2009, 08:56 PM
This might be the worst answer you'll get but you said you haven't changed any settings? Maybe try changing some settings around.

tsudawuda
04-04-2009, 09:32 PM
My laptop brings up a settings screen everytime I connect a mic. There should also be some kind of audio preference settings in your control panel that lets you choose your default mic.

SuperSecretBETA
04-04-2009, 09:33 PM
In ustream, you can choose which microphone to use.

deach
04-05-2009, 01:00 AM
This might be the worst answer you'll get but you said you haven't changed any settings? Maybe try changing some settings around.
LOL! Best answer I think!

Captain Google
04-05-2009, 05:33 AM
^^;

I guess a better question is this: what settings should I try changing?

russ_buss
04-05-2009, 06:12 AM
... With a digital audio recorder (which can be used as a microphone) (like the one used by Ken Middleton) on the way,...

your "on the way" digital audio recorder might be plug and play. maybe wait until it arrives before asking this question. if it isn't, then try messing with the input settings on the "sound and audio devices" control panel.

Captain Google
04-05-2009, 06:44 AM
Thanks (for the response and for putting up with my stupid question).

You know how it is, one can only say so many smart things before something stupid slips out. :D

Ukulele JJ
04-05-2009, 08:17 AM
You know how it is, one can only say so many smart things before something stupid slips out. :D

I always work the other way. I say a bunch of stupid things and eventually something smart will slip out by accident. :p

JJ

C-roy
04-05-2009, 06:03 PM
What operating system are you on?

I think the sony vaio runs windows vista?

If ya haven't figured it out here it goes.

1.start menue.
2.control panel
3.hardware and sound
4.Manage audio devices under Sound
5.there should be 3 things at the top Playback, Recording, Sounds. Go into Recording.
6.Double click on your recording device.
7. at the very bottem of the popup It will say device usage go to the right and click enable instead of disable.
8. so it should be on (use this device) enable.
9. Click ok.
10. TADAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

casetone2514
04-06-2009, 03:21 AM
What operating system are you on?

I think the sony vaio runs windows vista?

If ya haven't figured it out here it goes.

1.start menue.
2.control panel
3.hardware and sound
4.Manage audio devices under Sound
5.there should be 3 things at the top Playback, Recording, Sounds. Go into Recording.
6.Double click on your recording device.
7. at the very bottem of the popup It will say device usage go to the right and click enable instead of disable.
8. so it should be on (use this device) enable.
9. Click ok.
10. TADAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

Gadzooks! Methinks that be witchcraft. Get the fire going guys.

deach
04-06-2009, 03:25 AM
I always work the other way. I say a bunch of stupid things and eventually something smart will slip out by accident. :p

JJ

me too....well, i'm still waiting on the smart thing, but I know what you're saying.

NukeDOC
04-06-2009, 05:38 AM
get a mac

hahaha ok im sorry. i dont know (or remember) what settings exactly to change on a windows OS, but wouldnt it be on the menu of whatever video capture program you are using?

i would wait for your new mic to come in though, because it might not even give you the option to change mic sources if there is nothing plugged in yet.

Captain Google
04-06-2009, 06:06 AM
The witch is more than likely correct. :D

C-roy
04-06-2009, 09:43 AM
Gadzooks! Methinks that be witchcraft. Get the fire going guys.

funny...:rofl:

JTY
04-07-2009, 05:11 PM
What kind of external mic you folks use? I tried the headset type mic and it only works good about 1 inch away from the uke... another inch away and its totally inaudible. tnx.

Captain Google
04-07-2009, 06:51 PM
Well, the Zoom H2 (something) audio recorder serves well as an external USB microphone, as I have just discovered. Ken Middleton uses one.

It also has the benefit of being highly portable. You don't even need a computer or camera to record. It's an incredibly versatile tool with great audio quality.

JTY
04-07-2009, 07:14 PM
Thanks for the answer..

Arrrg.. and I sold my Zoom H4 last month... :wallbash:

C-roy
04-07-2009, 07:58 PM
Hmm... well if your looking for something easy the usb condenser mics really do the job. just plug it right in, and open up your recording program.

They start at the lowest for around 70 us dollars, if you actually want a decent sound.

Otherwise, they have external usb soundcards if you are on a laptop. If on a desktop you can get a good one, but you would have to install it into your computer.

I have a usb soundcard, and a usb condenser mic. With the soundcard you can plug a 1/4 mic in with a 1/8 adapter.

I still suggest the usb condenser mic, just because of the ease setting it up and the quality is good.

I don't know where your located, but music stores might have them. Otherwise if you have a bestbuy around they have a usb condenser mic called a samson c01u. It's 90 us dollars, but you wouldn't have to order it from online. I have the samson c01u it's pretty nice.

PoisonDart
04-08-2009, 04:42 AM
I bought a Blue Snowball usb condenser mic with an omni and a directional built in.

I love the thing, plugs right in to my computer, i select it in the settings in audacity and my video program, no muss, no fuss, just great sound.

JTY
04-08-2009, 08:20 PM
Thanks, I Macgyver'ed an external condenser mic I ripped out of a long dead camcorder. It works better than that headset mic, now works with ustream. I'll give it a try, if it sucks I'll definitely be saving for the Snowball USB mic.

Just gotta figure out this skype thing and then hopefully I'll be good to go for the next online open-mic. :uhoh: