PDA

View Full Version : Project of a newbie

quaprappo
01-15-2016, 12:21 AM
Hi all,
i'm quite new to luthery and this is my second instrument: a spruce/mahogany tenor ukulele with a Kanile'a style bracing pattern.
It sounds quite good but has a nasal tone and a resonance on C note played on the A string (don't know if it's a good or a bad feature).

I'm currently improving my design in order to built up a better 3rd instrument.

If you have any suggestion please help me: i'm trying to learn more about this subject.

I hope you'll like it :o

greenscoe
01-15-2016, 03:19 AM
Welcome to the forum. You will find lots of useful information and help here.

Its great to hear that you are already planning to make the next instrument: most of us progress quite quickly with each build, and some claim no 5 is often a significant step in their journey to the perfect instrument.

From what I can see you've made a good start and clearly have some ability in working with wood. My preference is always to fit purfling and binding, but they are not absolutely necessary.

You mention improving your design. I don't know what method you used to build the box, but it looks rather flat at the base of the lower bout (though this may be just the photo?). If this really is the case, then a rounder lower bout may be something to consider to improve the appearance thought it wont make it sound better!

quaprappo
01-15-2016, 05:10 AM
thanks for your reply.
the lower bout has a 2.7m radius, i'm planning to go down to 1.5m in the next one.
The top is dead flat to simplify neck attachment.
the top thickness is 1.7-1.9 mm (i didn't have a decent planer, so it's not perfect)
the back and sides are something between 1.9-2.3 mm thick. I didn't take too much care on back and sides.
Neck is bolt in the body whitout any kind of dovetail.
All is glued with epoxy

the result sounds a little dull to my ear (i'm not a well aged musician) and it has a very poor deflection near the bridge.