PDA

View Full Version : NUD 2015 Kamaka HF-1L+

NYDCLA
01-31-2016, 07:13 PM
24 days after I received my very first ukulele (a worthy solid acacia Kala), I found myself in a position to buy this sweet instrument. It was made in Sept 2015, and came with Worth clears. Immediately, I am blown away by the sound and the beauty of Koa. I am a newbie, and I feel a little unworthy of this Kamaka. On the other hand, even with my untrained strumming I can be expressive with this instrument. It really encourages me to be become a better player. :)

I am lucky to own this Kamaka so early in my ukulele journey! :music:

Now I need to get serious about taking care of this baby. So other than storing in the hard case with an Oasis humidifier, what else should I do? Microfiber cloth after each playing? Wash my hands before I touch it? Should I condition the fret board with each string change? How often should I change strings? Sorry, I am a newbie :confused:

sam13
02-01-2016, 01:40 AM
Congratulations on the purchase. It looks lovely.

I think you did the right thing buying a great Uke to start with as it helps excite and make you want to pick it up all the time.

For a new Uke, I find:

- cuddling
- selfies
- learning new music are excellent.

Lol. Just kidding. Not much more to do. Have fun.

Astein2006
02-01-2016, 03:49 AM
I bought a Kamaka HF-1 standard in December as my first and only ukulele. I am completely in love. As I've read on many threads here in UU, starting out with a quality instrument, especially if you are a beginner, is very important. If I never got another ukulele for the rest of my life I would not feel like I was missing something. Kamaka is that good. The sound, the feel and the smell:)...enjoy it!!!

natchez
02-01-2016, 03:58 AM