Pay it forward, and the place I did.

KohanMike

Los Angeles, Beverly Grove West
UU VIP
Reaction score
I'm hoping this is a good forum to make this post. If this is a violation of rules, please let me know.

I've been a member of The CC Strummers ukulele seniors group out of the Culver City Senior Center since August of 2013. I started playing ukulele only a few weeks before, and bass uke a couple years later. It's a great group of people all having a lot of fun learning and playing the uke twice a week.

With my computer knowledge, I started recording each song during our sessions and posting the audio on one of my web pages so everyone could practice at home. I also taught our leader Cali Rose how to create the lead sheets she provides for us using a Macintosh graphics design program. I also designed and print a cover sheet for everyone to put on the front of their music binders when we perform. From time to time someone will have a computer question and I answer as best as I can.

Last Thursday, one the guys got up and made an announcement. A couple days before, they had passed around a thank you card for everyone to sign and contribute cash, $187... to me! I was very surprised. It was rather awkward because what I do is for the betterment of the group and it's great fun for me, I honestly don't want anything in return.

I accepted it, but only because I told them that I would donate the money to charity. One of the members told me about the Ukulele Kids Club that provides ukuleles to hospitals for their music therapy programs for children.

That evening I got online and made the donation, making it an even $200. I have to say, Corey Bergman the founder, was extremely happy. So much so that he asked if we would like to be the organization's Los Angeles representatives to hospitals in the area. The first one is the UCLA Medical Center Mattel Children's Wing. He's going to arrange for us to present 5 ukuleles to their program and also perform for the patients.