Standard G

davidwtc

Reaction score
I am an experienced guitar player, but I have been learning the Uke for a couple of months. I have seen discussion about tuning with a low g. I want to share my thoughts and invite comments.

1. The high G makes the up strum sound more like the down strum, because both end on a high note. This seems to me to be a positive feature.

2. The high G seems to be underutiliized in finger-picking (as least by beginners, like me). However, it has a value when sing higher register frets with the lower three strings.

3. The high G string permits some interesting chords with open G using higher fretted notes on the lower three strings.

4. The high G does limit the range of the ukulele.

5. In finger-picking when a note goes below middle C, one can fake the missing note by strumming the chord, ignoring the note.

Comments? Am I all wet?

I think you're right on, I don't like the sound of low G...high G sounds like an ukulele!

I prefer high G/re-entrant G too. Definitely sounds happier. Makes a uke sing. Better for simple strummers like me.

The campanella picking that Bill mentioned is one of the neat features of the re-entrant tuning. One of the things you can't do on most guitars, the baroque ones aside. Besides John King's classical performances and book, there is also some material for Irish tunes by Jonathan Lewis (link) that isn't often mentioned.

I prefer the high-g to the low-g, too. It's not that I don't enjoy listening to low-g performances (they are often beautiful), but linear-tuning is just so guitar-y for me. I seem to develop a stronger preferences for the soprano and concert size and can't seem to properly connect to the tenor size (haven't tried anything bigger: I chose the ukulele as my instrument because of the small footprint; otherwise I'd have gone for the guitar as size was one of the core appeals to me when I made the choice).