The B-Minor Chord

crokett

Reaction score
I'm a beginner trying to learn Rainbow Connection so I can accompany my daughter. I'm having issues with B-Minor(or any barre really). It sounds muddy. I found this video
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DS06weYFYHs

where he wraps his thumb around to hold the G string. Is there an issue doing it this way? I haven't tried it yet but am not having much success with using my first finger as a barre and my third finger to hold down that G. I keep muting the C string so the chord sounds muddy.

I'm a beginner trying to learn Rainbow Connection so I can accompany my daughter. I'm having issues with B-Minor(or any barre really). It sounds muddy. I found this video
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DS06weYFYHs

where he wraps his thumb around to hold the G string. Is there an issue doing it this way? I haven't tried it yet but am not having much success with using my first finger as a barre and my third finger to hold down that G. I keep muting the C string so the chord sounds muddy.

I usually don't make blanket statements but..........that technique in the video, bad idea......delete it.

As a beginner you are trying to learn an advanced technque, barr chords are advanced don't let anybody tell you any different. Learning barr chords take a lot of attention to detail and a lot of practice. There are many good videos on learning barr chords but here is a primer.

With your index finger laid across the strings place your thumb in the middle of the neck and directly underneath your index finger. From here it is all fiddling and fudging around with the exact placement of yoir thumb, farther down the neck, more towards the 4th string. Index finger sticking up past the fretboard lot or a little, index finger rolled up on it's side a bit etc. etc. etc. We are all built different so you have to find the placement of YOUR thumb and index finger that will allow the notes to ring clear