New to the forum. Guidance with brands to look at

pointpergame

Reaction score
Hello, Uke folk,
I'm taking a break from the mandolin because of hand problems. I'd like to ask a question that sometimes comes out as "what's best" or even worse, "is brand X worth it." I really mean something else.

I am a bit of a luthier with a pretty good ear and, unfortunately, also a sucker for quality. In starting to explore Ukes, I just have no idea which way to look. Prices are all over the map, so the correlation there seems a little weak. I have no idea who are the good guys/gals, which are those ukes made with precision and a eye for perfections, and which are bold and thoughtful in their sound.

I know! Can of worms. But I suppose the question is, from those of you who know your ways around the ukulele village, if you were me, what brands would you focus in on? I probably prefer to fish for used, but budget isn't my first concern, and I'm probably going to pass on the $2,000+ Collings and the $200 famous-name antiques that seem to be selling in the $1k - $5k range. Looking for 1) Sound, 2) Build quality 3) Sharp luthier

Hoping this isn't too broad. Many thanks.

Last edited:
Do you have a uke-friendly music store nearby? Always best to try before you buy.

If I were you I'd go straight for the K-brands - Kamaka, Koaloha, Kanile'a. (Personally my choice is Kamaka but they're all good in different ways.) For a first uke, I'd opt for solid koa - although some people are fond of mahogany. These will all be less than that Collings or that antique you referred to, but are all well-made ukes which in my experience have good intonation and sound right off the shelf. Also consider Martin's Mexican-made koa ukes - they're a pretty good deal for not a lot of money.

I'd probably look at some of the mid-range custom builders too, covered bridge is one that comes to mind.