Lessons? UU university (vs) U YouTube university

jgun

Reaction score
:music:

Hi UU :)

I just bought a ukulele. So, I'm very new to this and excited to learn how to play it. I used to mess around with my friend 's uke last semester. So, I know 5-6 chords and can play some easy songs.

Considering there are tons of uke lessons on YouTube, tutorials for famous songs, and chords chart everywhere, I am not sure if I can be good at uke by myself? I can dedicate 30 - 60 minutes daily to practice it. So, I think I can play it eventually.

However, I know that there are UU lessons here that I can pay $20 a month for a membership in order to watch video lessons. Lots of them are free anyway. So, I'm not sure if it is worth to pay money or not? I'm not sure if the private videos in there can be substituted with other free videos from the library or from YouTube.

It seems $20 is not that much money but it might not be necessary to pay it, especially if you are still a poor college student. Or I can learn real things that are not available in those free resources?

I would love to hear your thoughts. :D

Aloha,
Justin
:music:

I have heard wonderful compliments about the UU lessons. The free ones I have learned from are excellent and I'm sure the paid subscription is well worth the money.

Aldrine is a really good teacher. The money is a bargain -- if you are motivated to practice.

Aldrine is a really good teacher. The money is a bargain -- if you are motivated to practice.

Yes, I agree. So far what he teaches in the free stuff is pretty good. But I dunno how important are the things of the pay sections in the UU University. It seems I can learn a lot from the free lessons he posted.

UU+ is absolutely worth it in my opinion. And if it weren't for those who support them with UU+ membership, this forum would either cost money or not exist. So, please, give them extra consideration in your decision!