Ohana SK38 - is it a good choice?

Pier

Reaction score
hi! I'm an italian musician. I'm an opera singer and an electric bass player, and years ago I bought my first and only ukulele.

it was a cheap Arrow, soprano, bought brand new for 30 euros (with a padded gig bag included...), with rough finish and sharp-edges frets.
however, it always sounded good and kept the tuning.

now that I can play "better", I was looking for a new and decent soprano, and my eyes were caught by the Ohana SK38 for some reasons

- all solid mahogany

- 200 euro new and shipped, here in Italy

- vintage look, which I really like

the look got me immediately. rough finish, binding, friction tuners, simple bridge (not the one that looks like classical guitar).
I don't like the gloss finish, and I prefer the look of friction tuners over the geared ones.

BUT I was reading various topic here, and sometimes I red things like poor intonation, poor fretwork and high action, issues that led me to think it might not be the best choice.

I can't try one before buying, so I'll have to order it online (from a store here in Italy. I won't buy it overseas, it would cost too much).

so, how is this ukulele? is it worth the money?

If you read the other thread on SK-38's, here on Uke Talk, you should realize that someone who didn't like the looks, loves it...

It's got a loud, brash sound, commonly referred to as "bark", that can take some getting accustomed to. If you like the sound of old mahogany sopranos, it's pretty unique and I don't expect I'll be getting rid of mine any time soon. If you end up feeling differently, they're in good demand and you should be able to recoup much of the value on resale.

There are better options, I'm sure.