Book Suggestions for an Online Course

AaronLangenauer

Reaction score
Hi everyone! I'm a middle school music teacher currently working on my master's degree. I'm currently taking a course about online teaching, and a big component is to build my own online course. I've proposed to design one in which I teach how to play the ukulele!

I've dabbled in ukulele, but I'm no expert. I would love to get some of your thoughts about method books that may be helpful for adult (or secondary-age) online learners. What books have a nice easy-to-follow layout? I'd love to also include reading notation and tab, maybe a little music theory. Songwriting might be cool too. I don't have to limit myself to one book, but I do need a starting place to begin looking.

Any suggestions for where to begin on method books that might be useful?

Thanks!

Aaron

Hey there! I used to be a middle school band director and elementary music teacher! Sounds like a fun project.

I just received James Hill's books, Ukulele in the Classroom (book 1), and Play Ukulele Today. These methods are a wonderful introduction to ukulele for any age, but they are very child-friendly. Play Ukulele Today is just 16 pages long, covers finger picking, chords, and where the notes are located on the staff. One thing left out of both books, it seems, is how to count the rhythms of the finger picking melodies. These are my favorites so far.
https://www.ukuleleintheclassroom.com/books.htm

Essential Elements for Ukulele http://www.amazon.com/Essential-Elements-Ukulele-Method-Ensemble/dp/1480395986 I have book one. James Hill beats EE because EE doesn't introduce reading music until page 16. You strum the first 15 pages. To me, that is a little backwards. I like to start my students with finger picking, learning where the notes are on the instrument and on the page, and then add strums a little later. So, EE is ranked second.