Converted family to the uke-side?

strumtheory

Reaction score
I am new to the world of uke and have been pretty consistently practicing nightly. Well last night my daughter came and sat down and asked if she could have a go. So we checked out the tabs for one of her favourite songs (Taylor Swift - help.me.lord - blerk! ;) ). Initially I played it on the uke/she sang and we muddled through together but in the end she was having a go on the uke and really enjoying herself :) She has recently started guitar lessons, which she is enjoying, but I think the uke felt more fun/less stress to her.....something we really enjoyed doing together. She has asked if we can work out another song tonight.

Just curious if you have converted any family members to the uke or if you play uke with your family?

Our first uke was a Christmas gift to my eldest daughter. She loves it and strums but only on occasion. My youngest daughter loves the uke, plays it almost as much as her cello. Of my four kids, three are reasonably proficient on the uke, and the younger two really enjoy playing often, ukes and banjoleles.

This is not without downsides. They will covet your ukes, develop a taste for better ukes and indeed get a little UAS all on their own. Amplifiers and cables go missing, and you had best have a budget for strings. I am grateful that they aren't into the usual teen and pre-teen pop music, however.

So I have all that to look forward to huh ;)

Although I could do without the Taylor Swift lol but I suppose anything that ignites the passion for playing music has to be an ok thing.

Yeah, and it's subject to change without notice. One minute they will ove a song or artist, next week it could be old news. Making up your own humorous songs together works for us.

Tried, but no success.

But I have converted quite a few friends and acquaintances. That's basically my life goal.