What's Your Playing Approach?

Down Up Dick

Reaction score
I'd be interested to know how many of you fingerpick and how many strum/sing, and, I guess, how many do both?

With my ukuleles I strum/whistle/sing; I fingerpick other instruments.

Sooo, whadayado? :eek:ld:

Last edited:
I'm still learning everything, so I'm all over the place. But, I do not sing. I lack the courage, I think, but I do start to hum! I like strumming in the sense of developing rhythmic pattern, and I came to realize that good strumming is a form of art. My timing is awful, says my Mr. Metronome, so I'm working on that. I started getting a bit more in fingerpicking lately and bought Aaron's Keim book, but for the most part is do scaled and arpeggios. Improving in that area is on my list!

So in the way, I actually don't play for recreation, I practice for recreation!

I'd be interested to know how many of you fingerpick and how many strum/sing, and, I guess, how many do both?

With my ukuleles I strum/whistle/sing; I fingerpick other instruments.

Sooo, whadayado? :eek:ld:

Why not set this up as a poll?

I play mostly fingerstyle.

I'd rather have it conversational. We don't talk about our playing often enough. I think the forum should be about more than NUDs and string types/brands.

The thing I like most about my Uking and general music hobby is the study and learning. Grow and groove . . . :eek:ld:

I was a drummer all my life and just picked up the ukulele in the past decade. I know nothing at all about theory or even where the individual notes are along the neck, but I think my rhythmic abilities are very good. When guitarists hear me play, they actually think I know what I'm doing and assume I have been a string man from the beginning. I can't pluck a melody or play a solo to save my life, though!