A Heartfelt Thankyou

SamWise

Reaction score
I just wanted to say a big thankyou to all you guys and girls. I used to play in bands, spent most of my spare time on music, partly because I loved it, but also because it was what I thought I would do for a living.

About 4 years ago (at age 32!) my last band split up, and I finally accepted that I was never gonna be a rock and roll star. I also managed to find a day job that I really like, and had a lot going on. The result of this was that I more or less stopped playing. My guitar would come out for parties, and I played when I was reviewing instruments, but that was honestly about it. I was very happy, and busy doing other things, but when I thought about it, I felt sad that all my instruments were gathering dust, and I wasn't doing what I had always loved the most. The fact was, though, that I wasn't about to start another band, or even a solo performing project (just not enough time), and that unlike in my youth, I'm really not surrounded by people who play music for fun.

Then, last year, I got commissioned to write a review of 12 ukuleles, so in the spirit of doing my research properly, I found this place, and started learning to play. I've never looked back. I'm playing everyday, not just uke but guitar, bass, melodeon, whistles and flutes, steel guitar, all sorts of things. I'm loving posting Youtube videos (it's like an open mic night without leaving your home!), and testament to that would be that I've done 46 of them since October. My playing and singing are both improving once more, and I'm making better sounding stuff all the time. I'm even starting to feel like writing songs again. This has mostly been down to the positivity and enthusiasm of people here, the silly but fun contests, and the general community. So, thankyou, you've all helped me find my music mojo again!

Rock on, Sam!

I've seen some of your instrument reviews in Acoustic magazine (wasn't it?). Good stuff.

:music: