When is a beginner no longer a beginner?

Larry U

UU VIP
UU VIP
Reaction score
I've been playing for three months now, mostly learning from books, videos, tutorials, etc. I've managed to get pretty comfortable with most of the more common chords, and am fairly adept at strumming and changing in and out of the chords. I still have a few chords that I'm struggling with (the "dim"s and certain barre chords), but I am seeing improvement. I've been doing some basic fingerpicking and chord melodies, and have started working on notes further up (down?) the neck.

Is there a commonly-accepted standard for when someone is no longer considered a beginner? I'm pretty sure I'm still a beginner, but when I look at notation labeled as such, I generally find them too simple and uninteresting. "Intermediate" tunes seem more in line with my skills.

Sounds like you're not a beginner any more :) Welcome to the curious no-mans-land that is intermediate level.

FYI: I just got here myself. The real clincher for me was being able to move between an open chord and a barre chord without my head exploding.

Last edited:
From what you have just stated you have certainly advanced past the typical beginners stage. Welcome to intermediateville :music:

Congrats, Snargle! I need to increase my time spent practicing so I can graduate to intermediate. :)

just for fun, please check out the links in this thread: please search for: Uncle Rod's Ukulele Boot Camp expanded and revised

The Self-Examination Test for Ukulele Proficiency (SET UP :) ) is nothing official, just my way of saying that
if anyone can work through those chords at a moderate pace without interrupting their strumming, they should
no longer consider themselves 'Beginners' :)

enjoy, and keep uke'in',

Last edited:
just for fun, please check out the links in this thread: please search for: Uncle Rod's Ukulele Boot Camp expanded and revised