PDA

View Full Version : Australian Guilele

DotBot
03-01-2016, 12:14 PM
hi folks,

I've been lurking around here for more than a year now but this is my first time to share a new build. I really enjoy reading and looking at the pictures; I've learned a lot from doing so.

I'm from the US but currently living in Canberra, capital of Australia. While I've been in Oz I've tried to learn about and use Australian timbers. There are some fantastic options here.

This is my first guilele and third (successful) build overall.

I have a hard case for my tenor uke and the guilele fits snugly, for which I'm very happy. :o

The back and sides are Silver Wattle from Tasmania, the bindings are Jarrah from way out west, top is Bunya "pine", neck is Tasmanian blackwood, fretboard is a desert hardwood called Mineritchie. (Silver Wattle, Tassie Blackwood, and Mineritchie are all acacias; I'm a bit of a tree nerd.)

And some more pics:

Thanks for looking!

Aaron

sequoia
03-01-2016, 12:42 PM
A very nice looking instrument. It must be fun having all those exotic woods at your disposal. Exotic at least to me here in America... I did cringe to see that lovely instrument sitting on that sharp brick wall. I'm paranoid about scratches myself, although I'm sure you put it on there very carefully.

DotBot
03-01-2016, 01:20 PM
A very nice looking instrument. It must be fun having all those exotic woods at your disposal. Exotic at least to me here in America... I did cringe to see that lovely instrument sitting on that sharp brick wall. I'm paranoid about scratches myself, although I'm sure you put it on there very carefully.

Ha! Yes, those bricks are formidable. I am not up to the level of see-your-reflection-in-the-finish yet but I set it down VERY gently all the same.

greenscoe
03-01-2016, 08:44 PM
Thanks for posting, its always good to see what others are making. Its a pretty guilele ( I like the box shape) and you obviously have what it takes to make instruments.