No channels in the saddle? rattle?

pointpergame

Reaction score
I'm a fluent luthier, but I've never built a uke. About to start setting a few up and trying a box or two of my own. One of my recent purchases, a beautiful custom built soprano, rattles a bit at the saddle. There's no channel for the string on the bridge at all. Looking at other ukes in my stable, this seems to be common.
So, a questions, then.
Why not cut a bit of a string groove at the saddle? I mean, generally.

p.s., After a closer look, the string exits the saddle before it reaches the forward edge. Now I have two choices: Form a sharper slope on the saddle or cut a small string channel that guides the string properly, leaving the surrounding saddle where it is. Thoughts on that?

thanks

I consider a groove or slot in the saddle to be wear. A compensated saddle should not have any wear grooves and if it does, the saddle should be replaced. I don't know of any string instrument that uses a saddle (except maybe a mandolin or a guitar that uses a tailpiece) that needs grooves cut into it.

I'm a fluent luthier, but I've never built a uke. About to start setting a few up and trying a box or two of my own. One of my recent purchases, a beautiful custom built soprano, rattles a bit at the saddle. There's no channel for the string on the bridge at all. Looking at other ukes in my stable, this seems to be common.
So, a questions, then.
Why not cut a bit of a string groove at the saddle? I mean, generally.

p.s., After a closer look, the string exits the saddle before it reaches the forward edge. Now I have two choices: Form a sharper slope on the saddle or cut a small string channel that guides the string properly, leaving the surrounding saddle where it is. Thoughts on that?

thanks