Is there such a thing as "easy to play strings"?

marimorimo

Reaction score
I'm very new to playing ukulele so please forgive the stupid question. First, some background:

I have a relatively cheap beginner concert ukulele that came with Aquila Aurora strings in orange. Frankly I love the sound of the instrument, even comparing with others that are double the price. It has a clear, bright sound and projects well (for my ears at least).

However, I am quite unhappy with the action. I think the action is either too high, or the strings are too hard/tight. When I first started, it was near-impossible for me to press a string on the first fret, even if I pressed on it with all my might. Nowadays, I have better accuracy but it's still hit-and-miss. I need to put a LOT of pressure on my fingers to get a clear sound.

I've tried other ukuleles from music shops and for me the strings seem almost a dream to play--they feel more pliant, and I don't feel like I have to cut my fingers to get them to sound. The also feel more "floppy" (due to lower tension?) Not sure if this is a pro or con. However, save for the much more expensive ukuleles, I still prefer the sound of my current uke.

Do you think my uke would be easier to play if I changed the strings? Is there a kind of string that has a clear, bright sound yet is also easy to play? I welcome any suggestions.

Last edited:
Any ukulele with any strings will feel easier to play if the ukulele is set up properly. Once you have a good setup, then you can try other strings. For me, my Worth clears feel "gentle" on the fingers. String change will affect the sound, so read the tons of threads here about strings. We have folks on UU who have made string experimentation an art form.