Vintage Baritone questions

tkthompson

Reaction score
By way of introduction: my name is Todd, I'm a newbie to this forum, and I'm really impressed by the wealth of info on this board and the generosity of the members. I was hoping some of the vintage baritone owners could clear up some questions I had.

A year ago (before I discovered this site) I picked up one of the "gamblers special" Lanakai baritones. Aside from some fretboard discoloration (wood filler?) and a high nut and action (2mm at nut; 1.5mm at 1st fret, 3mm at 12th), hard to complain. Any suggestions on how to go about lowering the action?

The LU-21B was my gateway drug; a few weeks ago I won an Ebay estate auction for a late-vintage Harmony that had spent the last 50 years in someone's closet. I got lucky: it cleaned up beautifully, has a sweet action, accurate tone, and sounds amazing (esp in lower tunings). And I really love the 19" scale. Any recommendations for strings and tunings on the Harmony? The D'Addario Nyltech's sound great in the linear G (DGBE), A, and Bb tunings. But I was curious if, as a rule it was better to shy away from higher tension strings/tunings with vintage ukes (in which case I'll look to tune down to Bb rather than up).

Also, I tried out the high G Aquila baritone set; the tone was nice but the volume was surprisingly constrained (less than my KPK concert with Worth clears). Any string recommendations for high G and/or high D tunings?

Finally, while I'm smitten with the Harmony, I'm looking to find her a reasonably-priced 19" companion (Favilla, Vega, ??) with a slightly wider nut and string spacing. The Harmony has a 1 1/4" nut and the string spacing is 33.5mm at the 12th fret). I understand the Favilla nut is 1 3/8". Can anyone report on the Favilla string spacing @ the 12th fret and/or bridge? Also, what's a fair price for a Favilla in good shape?