Design Techniques

Hluth

Reaction score
Part of the fun of building instruments can be going beyond traditional instrument building norms. This is where the object starts becoming a personal expression instead of a copy of what already exists. It can be small, like a different color binding or rosette pattern, or it can be more radical, challenging accepted ideas in both construction and appearance. My core life experience is in design, so as a designer, I can’t leave anything alone. The design process is like any other skill that has to be developed over time—it’s a process where you can build on old ideas while searching for new ones. The method I currently use employs a combination of sketches and computer drawings. I realize that any idea I have in my mind will very rarely end up as the something I can use as I imagined it. It has to be tested on paper and continuously modified before it can be implemented. After it actually becomes part of the finished product, it’s still open to modification the next time it’s used. The picture below is from a current project that shows the use of sketches and computer drawings to develop an idea. This particular idea is leading to changes in the structure of the instrument that might open the door to new ideas that go beyond the current one. It’s never ending in a good way.

DSC02050a.jpg

When you finally come up with a new shape, cut it out full-size and pin it up some place where you'll have to look at it a lot. If it grows on you, great. If it somehow makes you uneasy you know it has to be altered or discarded. Just use the shape, don't draw in any distracting details.

Part of the fun of building instruments can be going beyond traditional instrument building norms. This is where the object starts becoming a personal expression instead of a copy of what already exists.