Strings for linear tuning of soprano or concert Uke?

garybeck

Reaction score
Hello
I'm pretty new to Ukes, but i've been playing guitar for a long time. I have a soprano that I like but my son ran over it with the car, so I'm shopping a new one. I will most likely either get a soprano or a concert. I like the higher tuning and pitch. however I am not a fan of the re-entrant tuning. So I prefer linear tuning.
My question is, what is the best string to use for that G (lowest) string? If I buy a pack of uke strings, the G is assumed to be an octave higher so the string is sized accordingly.
Can anyone recommend what kind of string I should use for the G with linear tuning on a soprano or concert uke?
thanks!
gary in vermont

I'd recommend going for a concert scale rather than soprano for low G (there's another thread elsewhere addressing low G on soprano that you might want to check out). I use Fremont Soloist low G strings on my concert uke and love them. These work on any scale, but in my experience all low G sounds dull and thuddy on soprano scale - but YMMV.

I just strung my concert up with aquilas low g, nylguts. Sounds pretty good, lots of bass that I'm not used to yet...

I'd recommend going for a concert scale rather than soprano for low G (there's another thread elsewhere addressing low G on soprano that you might want to check out). I use Fremont Soloist low G strings on my concert uke and love them. These work on any scale, but in my experience all low G sounds dull and thuddy on soprano scale - but YMMV.