Picks for ukes

LarryS

Reaction score
Ive had a few picks for my guitars, I usually favour heavy picks for a richer, less flappy sound (on electric I sometimes used a coin). But what about ukulele? How many of you use a pick and whats your favoured type? Ive noticed felt picks mentioned on some websites. Felt? That would be really soft and thick!

I am quite new to uke playing - I was given a Kala Concert neck size for Xmas and I have recently bought a Goldtone Ukulele-Banjo in Tenor size. I found plastic picks much too stiff for strumming so I bought some leather picks in various thicknesses and I find my strumming much more even with one of those than with my fingers. That may well be because I am a beginner, but that is my experience so far.

Leather picks are another option. Not as muted as felt, and less plastic clicking then from a traditional guitar pick.
–Lori

:2cents:I started using alskan finger picks on my steel string (risa lp) a couple months back. I like because the steel strings kept chipping nail, now I use them with my martin tk1. Problem with them are at times I have to rejust. I only use them on my pointer and middle finger.

I like these picks best... 22268372_550-the-doctors-brush-picks-dental-toothpicks-.jpg Oh wait wrong forum! :D

Back when I noodled with guitar and bass I became fond of jazz picks of various thicknesses. 110060000445159-00-500x500.jpg

I believe the purple and green were the ones used most but I remember having a few that were really thick for bass perhaps not in the tortex line. Oh the jazz 2 or jazz 3's most likely or the stubbys 2.0-3.0's. Got a bunch in the bass case if I dig her out. I liked the jazz picks a bit better they are smaller and for me much easier to control.