What size to use as mandolin practice substitute?

Sepharad

Reaction score
I am a mandolin student who seems to have developed carpal tunnel. I tinkered with my teachers old Martin Soprano, strung GDAE, with Aquila Nylgut. I loved the feel. I think it may be easier on my arms to practice with, plus it looks fun.

Now I am deciding which size, Soprano or Concert, is more practically converted to GDAE tuning, with Nylgut (something about the feel was amazing to me).

Which would more accurately duplicate the play of a Mandolin and not constantly break the E-strings? I am looking at a Mainland Cedar Top to string this way.

Advice on which size would be appreciated.

Sepharad

If it's for mandolin practice, then getting a uke with a neck and fretboard as close in size to a mando would make sense. Mando's are generally 1 1/8" at the nut. If you are very lucky, you can find a uke with a fretboard around 1 5/16" give or take. Also, some ukes have thick necks, some thin. Lots to consider. Check out this chart: http://ukenut.com/comparison-of-ukulele-nut-widths/

Thank you Phil, I play a Collings with a pretty tapered neck.

Scale wise, I'm petty sure soprano uke is closest to mando, but a linear GDAE tuning is going to be a bit tricky. There are threads about low G on soprano so it is possible. As you've seen the hard part is the high 'e' string as you're really asking a lot to tune up a string designed as an 'a' up 7 semitones. One option might be Southcoast's reentrant fifths set located here: http://www.southcoastukes.com/5ths.htm

If you want to try for a linear tuning, I'd start with the
XLL set (http://www.southcoastukes.com/linear.htm) designed for high DGBE to tuning on soprano. You'd take the D string as your 3rd, the B string slacked down to A as your 2nd, and the E as your 1st. For your 4th string, why not start with that G which would make your tuning reentrant. Then you can hunt down a low G string to make it linear.

Last edited: