The Beatles For Fingerstyle Ukulele - Fred Sokolow (Hal Leonard) - impressions?

Pier

Reaction score
hi! I was looking at a book to practice fingerstyle and chord/melody playing with songs I know and like, and I saw this one about The Beatles.

watching the video teaser, it seems good: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w7nCluzqPOE

chord/melody playing, in order of complexity, of well known Beatles song.

reviews seem mostly positive about it, and the negatives just point out that it's not for low G (I play re-entrant, so it's good) and that it's not for "fingerstyle playing", because it's arranged with a chord-melody structure...
but I like the chord/melody style, is one of the reasons I like the ukulele, it plays wonderfully in this style due to it's restricted range.

so, excluding these "cons" (which aren't cons to me), is it a good book?

I'm not a beginner, but also not an experienced ukulele player, even if I play guitar and bass (I'm studying with the book "Ukulele Aerobics", great book for musicians with a harmony/theory background and some skills already developed).

how's that book, so? :D

I've had it a couple of months and like it. It has chord/melody arrangements as well as lyrics and chords. My only small warning is that the introduction states that the songs go from easier to harder. I haven't gone through the whole book, but that ordering does not seem to be exactly accurate to me though.

I don't regret getting it, for sure.

I am happy with the book. I have only just a couple weeks ago started to work on In My Life. Being very new to chord melody playing I have just the first page of it memorized so I don't have to deal with page flips. The music sounds great. My only con is that some of the songs appear to be in different keys than my other songbooks for the Beatles so I don't know which one is proper if played with others. There is a basic songsheet after each arrangement so others can play the rhythm with you in the same key.