Playing in public

beeejums

Reaction score
Yesterday, it was a nice day so I went out to the park and sat on a bench next to a trail and played for about an hour. I got a lot of looks, and a couple people stopped to listen. Most people just smiled at me. I need to do this more often, even though I'm not very good at it. I'm sure it will come. Advice from the wizened UU is always welcome.

But everybody should do this. You. Right now. Go outside and play in public. Entertain some peoplez for free. Enjoy the sun.

cool, i've always wanted to do that

That sounds like great fun! I'll try and head out next time we get the weather. It's raining now...

I got plenty of indoor practice to do. We got a gig coming up in two weeks and I'm doing some lessons with beginners tomorrow to help them get up to speed.

Besides the TCUO practices in a coffee shop weekly. We're in public all the time. I just live in a climate that isn't ready for that kind of outdoor activity for another few weeks.

I got plenty of indoor practice to do. We got a gig coming up in two weeks and I'm doing some lessons with beginners tomorrow to help them get up to speed.

Besides the TCUO practices in a coffee shop weekly. We're in public all the time. I just live in a climate that isn't ready for that kind of outdoor activity for another few weeks.

I'm just giving you a hard time...

And on top of that, you've made me jealous as I have no other musicians around to play with. Still looking :-(

yup...

it's funny how strumming this little four stringed instrument will attract people, bring smiles, or even opportunities to strike up conversations....

playing the uke (in public) allows us all to share a little bit of the A-L-O-H-A that we all found when we got started on the uke. i frequently carry one when traveling from Oahu and a few strums at the airport has allowed me the opportunity to meet people from all over the world...with a smile....

keep on strummin,
Shawn

http://ukulelefriend.com