Finger picking

Ukulelerick9255

Reaction score
I recently had to halt lessons for a while while I recover from surgery and I want to start learning finger picking and playing melody lines on my own. Any suggestions for the best way to learn to play finger style self taught? Any particular book or video series you think is the best for learning finger style?

I have been praising the Pekelo book since I bought it.

From their website:
Pekelo Publishing presents a new series of ‘ukulele instruction books that combine ‘ukulele fingerpicking foundations with basic music education forming one comprehensive method.

http://www.pekelosbooks.com/

I have been praising the Pekelo book since I bought it.

Those are only for low-g, right? I have been tempted when copies were offered, but I prefer re-entrant tuning, so I didn't bite.

When practising finger style I find I am either playing too lightly with my index or middle finger. Or I am pulling too hard and really over compensating and feeding it.

Any suggestions from any one?

When practising finger style I find I am either playing too lightly with my index or middle finger. Or I am pulling too hard and really over compensating and feeding it.

Are you pulling the strings up, away from the fretboard? I ran into the same thing, and what helped a bit was to pull the strings sideways, parallel to the fretboard, almost causing the finger to bump into the neighboring string

I recently had to halt lessons for a while while I recover from surgery and I want to start learning finger picking and playing melody lines on my own. Any suggestions for the best way to learn to play finger style self taught? Any particular book or video series you think is the best for learning finger style?

I'm not self-taught, but the book that I wish had been around when I was a beginner is Aaron Keim's Fingerstyle Ukulele.