Mainland soprano uke in a backpack

marimorimo

Reaction score
I'm traveling to the beach and I would like to bring a uke with me. I've brought along a laminate concert with me before to the beach and thought that despite its size I still find it cumbersome to bring along an ukulele in a gig bag. This is because of multiple transfers by plane, bus, boat, and tuktuk.

So I'm thinking of getting a soprano ukulele instead (that will hopefully fit into a backpack). Thing is, though I'm a beginner I've been spoiled by high quality instruments and if I had my way I would buy a Mainland soprano uke in solid mahogany.

Common sense tells me that I should probably be getting a cheap laminate but my heart goes out to the Mainland. If I go for the Mainland, would it be madness to stuff it into a backpack? Or should I stick with a cheapo laminate after all?

Although I said 'beach' I definitely won't be getting it wet as I won't be using it directly in or around the water. Our hotel is on a hillside facing the sea and I'm planning to play at the garden outside. Also, in a perfect world I would probably get a flea, but they're not available in my country.

Last edited:
I'm traveling to the beach and I would like to bring a uke with me. I've brought along a laminate concert with me before to the beach and thought that despite its size I still find it cumbersome to bring along an ukulele in a gig bag. This is because of multiple transfers by plane, bus, boat, and tuktuk.

So I'm thinking of getting a soprano ukulele instead (that will hopefully fit into a backpack). Thing is, though I'm a beginner I've been spoiled by high quality instruments and if I had my way I would buy a Mainland soprano uke in solid mahogany.

Common sense tells me that I should probably be getting a cheap laminate but my heart goes out to the Mainland. If I go for the Mainland, would it be madness to stuff it into a backpack? Or should I stick with a cheapo laminate after all?