Good Hymn Book for Ukulele?

Not a book but I like a site called classic country song lyrics .com and one of the choices is country gospel with lots of very playable songs.

Last edited:
Hymn Favorites is a nice, relatively small collection (32 vs several hundred vs 1000). The fake book looks like a great value, especially in the light of ELW's price tag.

Last edited:
Hymn Favorites is a nice, small collection. The fake book looks like a great value, especially in the light of ELW's price tag.

a bad thing about the hymn fake book is that it uses the more traditional key signatures. That means there's quite a few hymns in Bb, Eb, E, etc. In some cases I just wrote in transpose chord names myself.

Thanks for all of the suggestions. The ELW book is more expensive than I would like (I would have to admit that I looked to see if a PDF of it was floating on the web), and as bnolsen just mentioned, the keys of the Hynn Fakebook are not really conducive to ukulele. I have a PhD in Music Education, so I could transpose keys--but this is "fun time" for me where I want to be able to just sit and play.

At $6.95 via the iBook Store, I picked up the Hymn Favorites for Ukulele. There are only 26 hymns there, and it took all of 20 minutes to play through them--but that is definitely in the right direction, and fairly priced.

Incidentally, only one surprise E major chord along the way--and I actually managed to pull that off today.

Thanks again for all the suggestions!

a bad thing about the hymn fake book is that it uses the more traditional key signatures. That means there's quite a few hymns in Bb, Eb, E, etc. In some cases I just wrote in transpose chord names myself.

Same deal with ELW. Some of the hymns that are not in "guitar friendly" keys include alternate chords with capo positioning recommendations. Of course some guitar friendly keys (i.e., E major) are at enmity with the ukulele.