NUD: Kamaka Love - HF 3L 100th Anniversary Edition

sam13

Reaction score
Hey All,

A few days ago, I received an early birthday present:

HF 3L 100th anniversary Kamaka Ukulele from Andrew Kitakis at HMS.

Wow.

I am really impressed.

Thank you Andrew for picking out a fabulous Uke for me. I have always felt secure in buying something from him sight unseen as I know he REALLY cares about taking care of people, as MANY of you know. Mahalo, buddy! This is a fabulous Uke.

Until recently, I was a Pono Pro Classic Fan Boy! I still am a true fan of Pono products: amazing quality for the price.

BUT THEN … the shoe fell off … ;)

About two months ago I bought a HF 2L from Rappsy and it BLEW ME AWAY … that is another post coming … It is now my go to Re Entrant Uke … and in my arms it feels like a Soprano should … lol. :D

Last year, I had an inkling and pre ordered a HF 3L (cause Dave was talking about how it could be the perfect size … and he is right … About so many things … you all should listen to him … well, not about re entrant tuning but I digress!).

• The tone: Tremendous.
  • The build: Flawless.
  • The craftsmanship: Amazing.

It is a Classic: Subtle. And Beautiful.

IMHO, I think Kamaka Koa tone is sophisticated, full and centred offering:

• warmth and brightness
  • mouth watering sustain and harmonic colour.

Whether it is picked finger style, thumb strummed or index strummed it offers a lot of range.

My only initial concern was funny enough … the scale length.

Initially I didn’t know how I felt about it because it does feel more like a Baritone than a Tenor. But as I played it … it became a natural size for me and a regular Tenor neck seems small …

With the additional tension and length it really offers more sustain and low fullness … especially with Low G tuning.

Corey did a fabulous job of the Uke in High G.

https://vimeo.com/160992586

Andrew re strung it for me with Oasis Bright Low G (polished brass).