Uke shops in Rodchester NY?

JackLuis

Reaction score
I've got an old friend I convinced to get a Uke and he bought a Hilo Soprano on E-bay. Since he's 6'4" and about 280 lbs he had trouble playing it. I was wondering if there is a Uke shop in NY where he could try out a concert or tenor and get an inexpensive starter uke well set up?

I saw him in Wash DC last week and let him fool around with a concert and tenor I had taken with me, and gave him a few tips on how to play "Old Geezer" style. He's agoraphobic and can't handle a lot of people around him so I think the Uke would be good for him.

I've got an old friend I convinced to get a Uke and he bought a Hilo Soprano on E-bay. Since he's 6'4" and about 280 lbs he had trouble playing it...

What does his height and weight have to do with the uke's playability?

Do they do setups for 'old' ukes? Are the Nubie friendly?

Absolutely. I have shopped there since I was a beginner. Great people with a shop in the back and a ukulele club (once a month, I think).

Big fingers and big hands. I'm a slim 6'1" and 180 and I had trouble learning with a soprano. Hanging onto a soprano is hard if you're tall and just starting. Add to that a nubie with stupid fingers and it can be exasperating. He did okay with a concert and the tenor was even better.

Big fingers and big hands. I'm a slim 6'1" and 180 and I had trouble learning with a soprano. Hanging onto a soprano is hard if you're tall and just starting. Add to that a nubie with stupid fingers and it can be exasperating. He did okay with a concert and the tenor was even better.

It's just a question of experience and technique. Plenty of large men play violin, soprano ukulele, and any number of other small instruments. This is the opposite myth to 'small fingers/hands can't play _____ '.