Gluing an ebony bridge

Vespa Bob

Reaction score
I'll soon be gluing the bridge on my present project and, since it is the first ebony bridge I've used, I'd appreciate a little advice. The wood is obviously very oily and I seem to remember that one has to treat it by rubbing it down with acetone or something similar, but, I'm not sure. So, how does one prepare an ebony bridge for gluing? Also, what glue, Titebond, or epoxy, or hide glue? Thanks.

Bob

I would say that ebony as a wood isn't necessarily that "oily", just damn hard. Sure you can wipe it down with a solvent like acetone, etc. which won't hurt and can only help. My thought is that ebony can get almost glass smooth if sanded too fine and you might want to scuff it a little before gluing.... Definitely do NOT use epoxy. Titebond will do just fine. Hide glue I have no experience with so can't comment, but would probably work just fine. ... Re-reading your post you say that your ebony is "obviously very oily". Real ebony should not look oily which makes me wonder whether you are looking at some sort of treated wood. "Ebonized" something? As posted on here earlier: There are lots of different "ebony" woods and the term is almost meaningless. Some Dalbergia species are quite oily. In my experience, the "real McCoy" or west African Gaboon ebony is not a particularly oily wood. Send pictures!

I don't use ebony anymore but when I did I used Hide. Hide distorts the gluing surface though, largely because it's water based and ebony reacts readily to humidity changes. I would scrape the underside of the bridge and then size it with HHG. Allow it to dry and scrape the distortion out, then glue the bridge.
It glues well though, no need for the acetone or any other solvent.